TOP TEN TRACKS OF 2018: (4) Ivory Wave – Frankie

Birmingham’s Ivory Wave unleashed this absolute banger of an indie-pop tune a few months back and we’ve just not been able to stop listening.

Formed in 2016, the band – Luke Morris (bass), George Johnson (vocals), Connor McMinn (guitar), Rob Clarke (keyboard) and Seb Baldwin (drums) – have been making waves in their hometown ever since, plus reaching out to a wider audience with a string of festival performances over the summer.

Loaded with energy from the off, Frankie hints at a group that is more than comfortable with throwing all they’ve got at a song and knowing they can bring the various elements together. Synths and guitars dovetail throughout, behind vocals-with-attitude from Johnson.

There’s all the swagger and style you’d expect from the likes of Kasabian or the Happy Mondays perhaps, but with an exciting freshness that makes this track well and truly stand out. More of this please guys. Lots more.


Ivory Wave – Frankie

Leave a Reply

Copyright protected image

error: Content is protected